Make Up Competition – Next Route Style | Big Society Girl

Roch and Tash from Next Route Style got in touch with me and asked if I’d like to take part in their make up competition. Of course I wasn’t going to say no! With a £20 voucher for Feel Unique up for grabs, as well as a tutorial for my look being featured on their blog, I immediately got my make up out!

I wanted to go for a party look, but one that wasn’t too provocative or over the top. I was going to a formal awards ceremony that weekend so I went for what I thought would suit that evening. Here are the products I used to achieve my look.

Makeup-next-route-style1copy
1. Front Cover To Go
2. Elemis FreshSkin Softly Softly Daily Moisturiser
3. Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup
4. BarryM Bold Black Waterproof Eyeliner
5. Collection Illuminating Touch Brightening Concealer
6. Maybelline New York Big Eyes Waterproof Mascara
7. Rimmel London Clear Complexion Clarifying Powder
8. Bourjois Cream Blush in Rose

Here are the four shades from the box that I used:

Makeup-next-route-style3copy

1. Silver Dollar
2. See The Stars
3. Moondust
4. Black Spark

Firstly, I moisturised my skin with Elemis FreshSkin Softly Softly Faily Moisturiser (I have eczema so it’s ALWAYS dry) and then waited about 10 mins before applying Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Foundation. I don’t need to apply much as my skin is quite clear other than the dry spots. The foundation provided a nice base for my eyeshadow, so I didn’t use a primer. I then used Collection Illuminating Touch Brightening Concealer and made a triangle under my eye to hide my dark circles. This is probably one of the best concealers i’ve ever had. On top of the foundation and concealer I used Rimmel London Clear Complexion Clarifying Powder to set my foundation.

Next I took Silver Dollar on the rounded brush end of the double-ended brush applicator in the Front Cover set and applied it to the centre of my eyelid, it’s quite a fine shimmery poweder so it was a nice colour to start with. Following that I applied See The Stars to the inner corner of my eye and under my lashes in the corner, this one is more of a silver colour and it gave a bright highlight to the corners of my eyes.

Then the blue came out! I used Moondust and applied it to the outer corner of my eyes and blended towards the middle of my eyelid with my finger. It’s quite a matte colour, almost a powdery dark blue so it wasn’t the most sparkley eyeshadow. I also used the brush to make the wing shape at the corner.

To finish off the shadow, I used Black Spark, which isn’t black but a midnight blue colour with glitter infused into it. I blended it into the crease of my eyelid and I used the mini-blending brush end of the double-ended brush applicator. I also blended it into the wing area to darken and emphasise it.

To line the look I used BarryM Bold Black Waterproof Eyeliner and lined my upper and lower waterline. When my eye is closed there is a very small amount of eyelid that can be seen, because of this I always line my waterline, otherwise my eyeshadow can’t be seen as well. I then took Maybelline New York Big Eyes Waterproof Mascara and used the upper lash wand for my upper lashes and the lower lash wand for my lower lashes! This is a new mascara and I love it!  Finally, I used Bourjois Cream Blush in Rose on the apples of my cheeks. This was the finished look:

Makeup-next-route-style4copy

If you really like what i’ve done I would love for you to vote for me to win the competition at Next Route Style. All you have to do is go to http://next-route-style.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/eye-make-up-competition.html and leave a comment with my name Natalie Simm. It’s as simple as that!

If I win the Feel Unique voucher I’ll be using it to host my first giveaway at my first milestone of 100 followers on Bloglovin, so if you vote there could be something in it for you too!

This is how I looked when I did the makeup look again for my formal awards ceremony last weekend. I left the wings out of it, also sorry about the yellow lighting!

me

Natalie

Leave a Reply

