A shiny new camera!

I’ve just started studying photojournalism as a module in my Journalism course at Falmouth University and even though I’ve always had an interest in photography, I never got into it. I have now though, and to kickstart my work I’ve bought myself a shiny new camera! It’s a Canon 650D and I’m still getting the hang of it. It’s small and compact compared to other DSLR’s, not nearly as heavy as a Nikon D70 for example and it’s easy to shoot with. It’s quiet and not distracting, letting you get on with your work easily.

Canon 650D

It takes a standard SD card which is really handy as it can fit into most card readers – no need for annoying wires! The kit lens is also good,  I’ve already noticed that sometimes 18mm just isn’t wide enough if you’re shooting in small spaces. I think I’ll be looking into a fixed lens for my next photography piece.
I’m wary of photography being a life consuming hobby, I’m hoping it won’t suck me in too much as there are so many other things I like to do!

Touchscreen display

The display screen is a brilliant thing. You can pull it away from the camera, twist it and touch it! The touch function let’s you do things quickly that’d normally take you a while if you used the navigational buttons. It’s something that makes this Canon stand out from the rest. I can’t wait to start shooting with it!

2 responses to “A shiny new camera!

  1. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and all.
    But think about if you added some great photos or video clips to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with
    images and clips, this website could undeniably be one of the most beneficial in its field.
    Wonderful blog!

    • Hey! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I aim to make improvements when I’ve finished university and clips/videos are definitely something I’ll be introducing to my posts :) thanks for your kind words and recommendations for improvement!!

Leave a Reply

